Cette publication est également disponible en : Français (French)
The Fraser Lake Property Owner’s Association (FLPOA) represents the interests of property owners with land on the shores of Fraser Lake, in the Laurentians.
History of Fraser Lake
Fraser Lake was first settled in 1858 by Ewan Fraser, who purchased his 84 acre lot for six pounds three schillings from the Province of Canada. He etched out his homestead on the north shore of the lake. Other early homesteaders in the immediate area were Dewar(s), MacCrae(s) and the MacMillan(s).
Timber was much in demand in the late 1800’s. Fraser Lake, with a plentiful supply of white pine and in the heart of the Ottawa valley watershed, was part of the early log drives. Hearsay has it that a sluice way was blasted out on the west side of the stone bridge at the Black Hole.
In the early 1900’s the lake was utilized by sportsmen. With good trout fishing and a healthy deer population the Wentworth Fish & Game Club, along with a few other camps, were active on the lake.
Cottages, called camps, appeared on the shores close to 100 years ago. Amongst those with large properties were the Ayers, Hamilton/Cunninghams, the Lundons, and the Jackson/Doble families. The lake was accessed by narrow roads (winter access was by horse and sleigh).
Fraser Lake is rather unique for a lake situated within 100 km of Montreal. The Black Hole (stone bridge) discharge, where the waters form a whirlpool, drop vertically 10 feet and extend 200 feet horizontally within a 10 foot diameter shaft. The effect is the high/low level of water varies as much as 8 feet.
Fraser Lake has a beautiful shoreline and a small number of cottages. Waters are pristine in a very deep lake.